Somerset Lieutenancy

HM Lord-Lieutenant of Somerset

Mrs Anne Maw


Annie Maw was born into a Naval family in Henley on Thames.  She was educated at the School of St Helen and St Katharine in Abingdon.  She trained to be a State Registered Nurse at Westminster Hospital in London where she then worked as a Staff Nurse.  She married a St Bartholomew’s Hospital doctor and, when he took an appointment as a consultant surgeon at the Bristol Royal Infirmary in 1973, they moved to Somerset where they have lived ever since.

Annie has been involved with several different charitable movements and activities over the years supporting the elderly, children and, in particular, those who are disadvantaged.  She has also taken various further educational courses with a special focus on social history and on fine art and history of art.  Since 1999 she has been a guide in Wells Cathedral.  Riding and horses have always been a much loved pastime.  She also enjoys gardening, painting, reading and writing.

In 2002 she broke her back in a riding accident resulting in paraplegia.  Despite life in a wheelchair, in 2008 she was High Sheriff of Somerset after which she chaired the Somerset Crimebeat Trust for one year.

At the end of 2014 Annie was appointed a Deputy Lieutenant of Somerset and in March 2016 she became Lord Lieutenant.  She is patron, trustee or president of a large number of different organisations across the county.

Mrs Maw and her husband, Richard, ‘Dickie’ live in Pilton having formerly lived in the Chew Valley for many years. They have 3 children and 5 grandchildren.


Vice Lord-Lieutenant of Somerset

David Medlock Esq

Born in 1955 in Bath, David wasDavid Medlock educated from 1962-1972 at King Edwards School, Bath. He graduated from Salford University and completed his professional qualification as an Environmental Health Officer at Tameside Metropolitan Council. In 1979 he joined Hebron & Medlock, a sub-contract engineering design company started by his father in 1951. He is now Managing Director of the Group, which employs 1,000 staff, turns over £70m and consists of a technical recruitment arm and a design consultancy.
Since leaving school, David has been involved in the voluntary sector ranging from work with Shelter and adult literacy in Manchester to the Centre for Voluntary Services and the Gateway Club in Bath. He is now Managing Trustee of the Medlock Charitable Trust set up in 1985 by his father, which has contributed £25m to various causes throughout the country, including a Chair in Mathematics, a Chair in Engineering and Design and the Chair of Dean in the Faculty of Engineering and Design at the University of Bath.
David has been Deputy Lieutenant of Somerset since December 2008 and Vice Lord Lieutenant since January 2012. He was previously High Sheriff of Somerset during 2007-2008.  He has been married to Jacky since 1981 and is father to 3 children.  His outside interests include rugby and masonry.


Deputy Lieutenants

Deputy Lieutenants (DLs) are appointed by the Lord-Lieutenant at her discretion, subject only to The Queen not disapproving of the granting of a commission.  They are holders of a public office. Their role is to support and promote the Lieutenancy in Somerset and to represent the Lord-Lieutenant, performing a range of public duties as required.

Edward Allen Esq DL

Mrs Jane Barrie OBE DL

Edward Bayntun-Coward Esq DL

Professor Dame Glynis Breakwell DBE DL

Andrew Brownsword Esq CBE DL

The Lord Cameron of Dillington DL

Richard Case Esq CBE DL

Charles Clarke Esq CBE DL

John Cullum Esq DL

Chris Davies Esq CBE DL

The Very Revd Dr John Davies DL

Neil Dowdney Esq TD DL

Robert Drewett Esq DL

Colin Drummond Esq OBE DL

Lieutenant Colonel David Eliot MBE DL

Miss Julia Elton DL

Brigadier David Godsal MBE DL

Dr Nicholas Hooper BEM RD JP DL

Clare Jordan DL

Brigadier Tom Lang QVRM RD* DL

John Laycock Esq DL

Mrs Sarah Mead DL

Timothy Mead Esq DL

Rear Admiral Ian Moncrieff CBE DL

Lieutenant Colonel Michael Motum DL

Mrs Lucilla Nelson DL

Rear Admiral Brian Perowne CB DL

Stephen Pilkington Esq CBE QPM DL

The Hon Thomas Rees-Mogg DL

His Honour Judge Andrew Rutherford DL

Mrs Jane Sedgman JP DL

Trevor Smallwood Esq OBE DL

General Sir Peter Wall GCB CBE DL

David Wood Esq JP DL

Peter Wyman Esq CBE DL